Tags

, , , , ,

Another favorite escape of mine is Broadway musicals – they literally make me smile! I attend anywhere from 4 – 9 musicals a year (depending on what’s touring where). I had the opportunity to attend A Chorus Line a few weeks ago and I was surprised. I’d chorus linenever seen it before and didn’t know anything about the story – it was “heavier” than I was expecting. Please don’t misunderstand, I really liked it and I was pleasantly surprised at our local talent.

Here are a few of the things that surprised me… it didn’t have some of the things I tend to associate with Broadway musicals (colorful sets and costume changes) but it did have other things (enjoyable songs and heartfelt emotion). The emotions stemmed from worry, hope, hurt, new love, questioning the future, being asked about the past, and uncertainty. These emotions were examined in a way that everyone could relate to someone or something. I’ve also noticed that I tend to assume musicals will be light-hearted, but that is not always the case. Maybe it’s the idea of representing life with music, maybe it’s because I relate musicals to being happy (that’s what they do for me), or maybe it’s simply because I haven’t seen enough musicals to form an educated opinion. Whatever the reason, I still enjoy them thoroughly!!!